7 Oct 2019 ARTS & CULTURE

WHAT’S WRONG WITH GROOVIN? , Kaya FM’s new audio documentary which draws its title from a Hugh Masekela composition popularised by Letta Mbulu, aired its first episode yesterday. Curated by DJ Kenzhero and Tha_Muzik, the first episode of WHAT’S WRONG WITH GROOVIN? offered a succession of meditations on exile interlaced with a distinct music selection.

WHAT’S WRONG WITH GROOVIN? sought to enrich and disrupt our understanding of home – both literal and metaphoric. Yesterday’s episode was presented through the voices of several exiled  artists, musicians and activists including: Lefifi Tladi , Frene Ginwala, Miriam Makeba and many others. Using a series of evocative audio imagery, poetry, diary entries, personal accounts and rare archival material, the first show challenged us to think about exile as a repository of multiple histories.

Exile  can  also be  a place of  exchange and experimentation across borders . This particular episode  took us  to Beira, Mozambique, where the resonances of FRELIMO leader Samora Machel’s rallying cry “Aluta Continua” could be heard in 1964. We then  dropped  in on a conversation between Taiye Selasie and Binyavanga Wainaina on the inflections of Afropolitanism before moving to Bongani Kona’s personal anecdotes about establishing home away from home.


Here is the tracklisting for episode 1  of WHAT’S WRONG WITH GROOVIN? if you missed it: 

-Letta Mbulu – What Is Wrong With Grooving

-Black Disco – Night Express

-Takuya Kuroda  – Afro Blues

-Shubha Mudgal & Business Class Refugees & Ursula Rucker – A Stranger Here

-Fela Kuti – Why Blackman Dey Suffer

-The Manhattan Brothers – Jikela Emaweni

-Nitin Sawhney – Homelands

-Geoffrey Oryema – Exile

-James Brown – Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud

-Steal Vybe – 2nd Step

-Nina Simone – I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free

-Hugh Masekela – Been Such A Long Time Gone

-New Cool Collective feat. Toni Allen – One For Kyra

-Doctor Rockit – Café De Flore

-Sade – Slave Song

-Joe Clausell – Gbedu 1 – Gbedu Resurrection

-Jonas Gwangwa –Back TO Orlando East

-Somi – Alien

-Rokia Trare – Ne-So

-Thievery Corporation – Ecilio (Exile)

-Nicholas Payton – The Egyptian Second Line

-Zara Macfarlane – All Africa

-Nduduzo Makhathini – King Fela (K.A.N Remix)

-Mudd & Polard – Far Away (Ron Trent Remix)

-Lionel Loueke – Freedom Dance

-Oumou Sangare – Kounkoun

-Ndikho Xaba & The Natives – Nomusa

-Luisito Quintero feat Francis Mbappe – Gbagada, Gbagada, Gbogodo, Gbogodo

-Johnny Dyani – Song For Biko

-Lizz Wright  – Coming Home

-Bobby Hutcherson – Montara (The Roots Remix)

-Jose James – Grandma’s Hands

-Gregory Porter – Musical Genocide (Ludovic Navarre aka St Germain Version)

-Mark De Clive-Lowe – Hollow (QB’s Hot Dub)

-Clere Soulful – Reflections

-Dj Kenzhero & Tha Muzik Feat. Melo B Jones – What Is Wrong With Groovin


Listen to WHAT’S WRONG WITH GROOVIN? every Sunday from 14h00-18h00.